(You May) Enter Postmodern Theorists

I should be writing my research proposal, but I suppose this is the moment of insanity in the night where I believe everything is pointless. In any case, I will attempt to use this time as constructively possible in this blog.

I’ve been recently introduced to the work of Michel Foucault, reading “Society Must Be Defended: The Lectures at the Collège de France, 1975-1976” and of course, I am acquainted with his power/knowledge structure. I am always wary of postmodernist theories due to their pure critical nature and nothing constructive (thus, deconstruction), but I have found little disagreement in what I have read thus far from the Frenchman.The theory of the domination of ideology is nothing new (Marx), but the conception of power struggles and the discourse of perpetual war can have ready application to a hegemonic world.

I’ve also found the work of Giorgio Agamben to be particularly interesting, if only being impressed that some of his language can turn circles around me. I find his concept of the state of exception only a mere elaboration and theoretical nicety added to the work of Hannah Arendt, who pioneered much of this citizen/man dichotomy. The question then becomes: Do we break down the power structures that create the citizen or do we raise the biopolitical man out of his state of exception by extending the rights of subjugation and security? Where is my Cosmopolitik?

Quite impressed with Derrida’s recently published work “Rogues” which is a deconstructivist perspective of the post 9/11 world. I suppose there is some dark Nietzschean element lurking behind all these theories, as none of them are optimistic. In any case, I don’t see myself becoming a postmodernist anytime soon, unless a new phase of philosophical thinking develops that is more complete or viable with this train of thought. I’m sorry, Freud, I just don’t think man is reducible to perverted sexual desire and ego repression. Call me a post-postmodernist, if you will, but I intend to renovate these philosophies.

Leave a Reply

